A Twist on Digital Photography

The original intention for this particular blog of mine os for the exploration and expression of digital art, The weekly photos have given me a starting point, because photography, though not my skill set (if I have one) is all about creativity and art. But it’s time to move on with other things, and thanks to this photographic artist I found a link between photography and art that I would not have explored before. Her lovely post on Digital Art linked me to Tutorial from Digital Darkroom Techniques. It shows how to take a regular photo and turn it into a swirl of color and beauty. Here are my first attempts at what might become something fun to do on occasion.

My first attempt, from the picture of a conch shell on a wood surface:

digital twist 01

After that first try, I got experimental, so I’ll show you those results in 3 images. As far as I can tell, this blog theme doesn’t have a gallery post option, so for now, it all gets posted in large format for your viewing pleasure. 🙂

Oleander Trio:

First image – from a photo of an oleander bush in bloom:

I am new to Photoshop and all it can do, so I just clicked on Invert, thinking it would invert the image horizontally, but I discovered it had a different purpose. I liked the image that resulted, the softer tones, etc, so here it is:

Finally, I did find out how to flip the image, did so, and played with a few color filters. Isn’t it fun? A great way to explore options in a new program.

And for the Finale:

For this one, I want to show you the photograph from which it sprang – this photo is one I took outside my home – view from my computer room balcony at twilight.

and here is the “twister” result:

So there you have it, my first post exploring a digital art technique that is brand new to me. I love learning new things!  I look forward to learning new techniques, exploring old ones, and sharing it with you. There is nothing more personal than art, nothing more about sharing. What I create is an expression of who I am, what you see is an expression of who you are.

Above all, – Enjoy!

Judee

15 thoughts on “A Twist on Digital Photography

  1. Pingback: hang-ups « absence of snow

Leave a Reply

